Home Forums Design and Building Cabinet Construction Oil Finishing

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    Kier
    Participant

Anybody have any tips on oil finishing a bare wood cab? :)

I’ve been slowly building a head cab for my Two-Stroke (very slowly with no power tools!!), and I’m getting very close to it being ready to finish, and I’ve never used an oil finish before!

Pretty much settled on Danish Oil (already have it), and it sounds like you simply rub it in, take off excess after 5 mins, then repeat after 6 hours, and a final third time? Surely nothing is that easy?!

I’ll add some photos soon – I hope to have it all finished in the week, and now I have a job, I can actually finish the amp after New Years! :D

Alan D
    Participant

I’ve used tung-oil on a solid body “the paul” walnut guitar and it turned out beautiful! Put a coat on, steel wool, and put another coat on. The more you apply, the more shine. I used four coats and have a semi-gloss look on it and used paste wax over that. I would do it again in a minute. It’s durable and very easy to repair any spots. I attached a pic

Robin
    Participant

Great looking finish, Alan. Your workmanship is always tops.
    I’ve had good luck with oil finishes (tung oil, teak oil, etc) using fine steel wool (000 or 0000)to apply the finish. It smooths the wood as it applies the finish.

Alan D
    Participant

Thanks Robin, I’ll have to try applying the finish with the steel wool next time. I used cloth then steel wool but it makes sense to put it on with the steel wool.

Kier
    Participant

That looks great Alan! What does the wax add to the finish?

I did the 3 coats on Thursday and have it all finished now – I didn’t have any steel wool so I did it all with a cloth, and I’m pretty happy with the result!!

The grain came out beautifully and the colour came to life (it was really pale after sanding it, so was great seeing it all come together)