Home Forums Design and Building Effects Design and Construction Power Transformer wiring

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Hi all. Brand new to the forum, forums in general + electronics. I am a guitar builder who wants to know a lot more about the entire instrument from the guitar through the amp. This will be my third amp build – the first two were warm-ups – an “Altoids” amp and a Noisy Cricket – both fun as I get my feet wet. I’ve learned a lot but still have a long way to go.

OK – on to the questions.

My PT shows differently than the diagram – it has different colors of wires and 9 instead of 10. Pair of yellow (ok), pair of red (ok), pair of green (ok), pair of black (see below) and one red/yellow (?).

I checked with Andy (very helpful – thanks!) if I had the correct component and I do. I still need to correlate the PT wiring to the diagram and I am posting a picture of what I have + a marked up diagram.

Here are the questions:
    1) is the mark up correct?
    2) does it matter which black wire I use for connection to the switch or fuse?
    3) since I don’t have a green/yellow this does not get connected to the ground terminal – right? No substitute or other – right?
    4) connect the red/yellow as shown in the diagram – right?

Thanks to Andy and Robin and the whole community – looking forward to this build!

Robin
    Participant

Transformer manufactures sometimes change color coding, so it’s always best to confirm the lead colors with the information you receive with the transformer.

That said, the general color codes for the secondary taps are: Red = B+ (high voltage), The red/yellow tap is the B+ center tap and goes to ground.