Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    brucer
    Participant

Hi TAN.

I’m a long-time lurker driven to post by desperate need. I’m totally new to amp building, but just finished a Two Stroke build based on a Weber Maggie kit. I’ve fired it up … and it’s SILENT. Nothing, no hum, zilch.

I followed the Guitar Amp Handbook (and TAN addendum) religiously (only change is a resistor on the first filter cap to discharge it when power turned off).

I checked everything for continuity.

I seem to be getting correct-ish voltage readings:

120V supply:

V1, pins 3 and 4: 114

V2, pin 3: 324
    V2, pin 4: 274

V3, pin 3: 324
    V3, pin 4: 274

V4, pins 2 and 8: 331
    V4, pins 4 and 6: 322

125V supply:

V1, pins 3 and 4: 118

V2, pin 3: 339
    V2, pin 4: 283

V3, pin 3: 339
    V3, pin 4: 283

V4, pins 2 and 8: 346
    V4, pins 4 and 6: 335

I’d appreciate any trouble-shooting advice that’s out there.

Thanks!

PS. I couldn’t figure out how to add photos to this post, but created an album here: https://www.tubeampnetwork.com/tan-community/533-brucer/photos/album?albumid=56

Comments would be appreciated. Thanks.

brucer
    Participant

Okay, an update:

Just before pulling the board from the chassis to revisit the output transformer wiring, my son says: why don’t you try unplugging one speaker or switching where they’re plugged in?

Silly idea, won’t do anything, but it works …

One speaker plug seems to be the problem. Seems to be shorting out. If I open it up, then it works, no problems. If screwed together tightly and the wire or spring stress relief is wiggled, then sound for both speakers becomes intermittent.

To those more experienced than I am: does it make sense that shorted wiring in one speaker connection could stop sound from both?

Please, educate me.

Robin
    Participant