Home Forums Design and Building 2 Stroke Amplifier Design and Building Two Stroke parts clarification (Tube nube)

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Don Frantz
    Participant

Just got my Two Stroke kit. I’m new at this so I hope you will have some patience.

1) One of my three power supply caps is 30uf (Spec says 40uf) Is this OK?

2) My Power Transformer P-TF22772 has two yellow, two black, two green, two red and one red with yellow wires. How should I wire this?

3) For signal caps I received three .022uf. Spec says one should be .0047uf. Is this OK?

Also, any tips on the grounding would be helpful. I believe not mixing the power supply ground with the signal ground is one of the main principles? Any photos of finished grounding available for Two Stroke?

Thank you very much–really looking forward to this project and learning about amp design and build.

Don

Don Frantz
    Participant

Just noticed that the kit notes say that the 30 uf is fine.

Robin
    Participant

Hi Don, congratulation on the 2Stroke kit. I working on a new 2Stroke using a 30uF cap too. I’ve built a few 2Strokes, all with 40uF caps but DH says 30uF is cool so I’m trying it.

Here is a link for the PT:
    http://www.tubesandmore.com/products/P-TF22772. Note that the P-TF22772 does not include a center tap for the 6.3v (heater) circuit so be sure to add an artificial center tap with 100r resistors on each side of the circuit (green taps) going to ground.

You should have received a .0047uf / 600v (or .005/600) for the tone circuit.

You are correct about good grounding. There are a number of photos posted here on the TAN site you can study. Also be sure to read the information under Two Stroke in the TAN Wiki. Also check out:
    http://www.valvewizard.co.uk/Grounding.html

Good luck, feel free to ask questions as you go.

Don Frantz
    Participant